Disaster Declared For Vermont Flooding

Print More

Gov. Peter Shumlin says the White House has approved a disaster declaration that will bring federal aid to homes, businesses and public agencies in flood-ravaged Vermont.

The declaration covers Addison, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille and Orleans counties and will translate to federal aid for homeowners and renters as well as funding for roads, bridges and infrastructure repair.

Not included are Washington, Caledonia and Windham counties, which are still under review but may still qualify for the disaster assistance.

President Barack Obama issued the "Major Federal Disaster Declaration" after a review by the Federal Emergency Management Agency of damage wreaked by the worst spring flooding in Vermont in decades.

Comments are closed.