Vt. Towns To Vote On School Consolidation Plan

Print More

(Host) Voters in five Chittenden county towns will decide tomorrow on a plan to merge seven school districts, dissolve eight school boards and put nine schools under the authority of one new 15-member board.

The towns of Bolton, Huntington, Jericho, Richmond and Underhill make up the Chittenden East Supervisory Union, which serves 2,600 students.

Supporters say the merger could save about $315,000 in administration costs and would at least temporarily reduce tax rates. And they say it will equalize class size, per student spending and courses.

But opponents fear the measure would erode local control and eventually make it easier to close the smaller schools.

Comments are closed.