Education Department’s Failing Schools List Incorrect

Print More

The Vermont Department of Education is apologizing for putting two schools on the list of "persistently low achieving schools" that shouldn’t have been included on that list.

The department says Otter Valley Union High School and Bridport Elementary School should not have been on the list of 10 schools that is required by the federal government.

Instead, the list now includes the St. Johnsbury School and Lamoille Union High School.

The department says a calculation error led to the mistake.

In issuing the apology, Commissioner Armando Vilaseca said the error has caused both individuals and communities much concern. He says he takes full responsibility.

The schools were identified using standardized tests over time.

Comments are closed.